March 2022 SMART goal project

Microphone head
Microphone head” by sparetomato is marked with CC BY 2.0.

SUMMARY

Role

Vocals

Intention (SMART Goal)

By April 15th, 2022, as part of School of Rock, I will make a cover of Waiting on a Miracle by Lin-Manuel Miranda, by following this tutorial.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Absolutely Smitten: Dodie

Interview

Albums: Build a problem, Human, You, and Intertwined

I actually saw her in concert and she has an absolutely amazing stage presence, and her voice actually sounds better live in my opinion. The tone of her music is something I love because it’s very slow yet still usually happy.

Training Source(s)

Notes:

0:00-0:39 Intro

0:39-1:27 Explaining recording

1:27-2:03– Equipment

2:03-3:40– Mics

3:40-4:30- Recording info/resources

4:30-6:03– Recording (uses different platform)

6:03-6:59– Ending

SMART Goal Schedule

Record starting point

Identify things to work on

-Practice specific parts-

Record final point

PRODUCTION

SMART Goal Starting Point Evidence

Starting Point

SMART Goal Ending Point Evidence

Ending Point

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I have a pretty weird singing voice, range-wise anyway, and it makes it hard to find songs that are really in my safe vocal range. My voice can go really high, and very low but it strains it a lot, so I try and pick songs that are in the middle, which can take quite a bit of time.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I did have to ask for help figuring out what I was going to do for the practicing and actual project details.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I had to learn (remember) how to export a sound file and place it in the blog, as well as navigate Youtube when I was taking notes on the instruction video. The skills I used could be useful in future projects.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

If this project helped me with life skills in any way, it’s helping me get over my anxiety a bit. I really don’t like singing in front of or around people, and the chances of me being alone every time I need to record are slim so, it’s helping with that. Since most jobs involve socializing, or customer service, getting over those social fears will definitely be helpful.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I’m actually really proud of the final version. I feel like my pitching could have been better, but I definitely sound better than on the first try. I felt more comfortable where I was recording to be loud, whereas I didn’t feel as comfortable the first time, so that definitely helped.

Grammar and Spelling

Edublogs spell check/Grammarly

Editor

Bella

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *